An interesting exercise


Assalamualaikum.wr.wb

Dear all my students of International Class STAINSA. this is an interesting exercise of translating a poem from English to Indonesian. at first I have intentionally used Google translate to show how strange and wierdo of that translation machine.
see this one 🙂

The Road not Taken
by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference. Jalan tidak Diambil
oleh Robert Frost

Dua jalan bercabang di hutan kuning,
Dan maaf saya tidak bisa bepergian baik
Dan menjadi salah satu wisatawan, lama aku berdiri
Dan melihat ke bawah satu sejauh yang saya bisa
Ke tempat itu membungkuk di semak-semak;

Kemudian mengambil yang lain, hanya sebagai sebagai adil,
Dan setelah mungkin klaim yang lebih baik,
Karena itu berumput dan ingin pakai;
Meskipun sebagai untuk itu lewat sana
Apakah mereka benar-benar dipakai tentang, sama

Dan keduanya sama-sama berbaring pagi itu
Dalam daun langkah tidak ada yang hitam diinjak.
Oh, aku terus yang pertama untuk hari lain!
Namun mengetahui bagaimana cara mengarah ke jalan,
Aku ragu kalau aku harus kembali.

Aku akan menceritakan ini dengan mendesah
Di suatu tempat usia dan usia maka:
Dua jalan bercabang di hutan, dan aku-
Aku mengambil salah satu yang jarang dilalui oleh,
Dan itu telah membuat semua perbedaan.

or it is better  for all of  you to download terjemah aneh The Road not Taken since I have put the SL and TL  side by side in order to make easy for you to know and evaluate the result of translation.

Ok,then  what’s your assignment? just try to know the errors made on the translation and please fix it into a good Indonesian/Bahasa grammatical and semantic/meaningful structure.

Leave a Reply

